Party tells KCR to appoint district incharges

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 04:18 PM

Hyderabad: Keeping in view the dissatisfaction in the Cabinet, some senior leaders of the TRS are said to have asked Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao to appoint incharge ministers for the districts to head off discontent.

The state government had reorganised the erstwhile 10 districts of the state into 33 in October 2016. However, the Cabinet was expanded recently while taking into the consideration the 10 erstwhile districts. Sources in the party said that the junior ministers are irked that their seniors are not letting go of the composite districts.

As of now, four ministers from erstwhile Karimnagar are in the Cabinet apart from two each from Ranga Reddy, Mahbubnagar, Medak (including Mr Chandrasekhar Rao) and Hyderabad districts and one each from Nalgonda, Adilabad, Nizamabad and Khammam.

Karimnagar and Adilabad districts were reorganised into four districts each, Nalgonda, Sangareddy and Ranga Reddy into three each. Warangal was split up into six districts and Mahbubnagar into five. Khammam and Nizamabad were bifurcated into two districts each.

In the smaller reorganised districts, the writ of the senior ministers still runs. Mr Chandrasekhar Rao did not appoint district incharges which could have clarified matters.

Senior leaders keeping in mind the dissatisfaction among some junior ministers over the bigger role that senior ministers are playing in their districts took the matter to the notice of the Chief Minister.